Vex Nodes To Obj Nodes (maya-houdini)

Hi everybody,

I'm new in houdini. I have been working as character TD/FX for +5 years, and now I want to learn some houdini to see what is possible to do, cause everybody's saying that the node stuff is amazing. I come from maya, and I'm really glad with it, and all its node stuff, but I think that houdini could be also cool.

So, I have some maya-houdini questions that i didn't find in the forum. For instance:

-Can I connect the output of a VEX node, for instance "distance", to a channel of a OBJ node? (that would be something like this in maya "distanceBetween.output")

-Can I connect one channel (null.tx) to another through a interface, like the maya's "Connector Editor"?

-Is there any "Expression Editor"?

Thanks for the help!

pd: I love the Houdini Hacker Contest!!!, I hope to do something like that soon!

-Can I connect the output of a VEX node, for instance "distance", to a channel of a OBJ node? (that would be something like this in maya "distanceBetween.output")

-Can I connect one channel (null.tx) to another through a interface, like the maya's "Connector Editor"?

-Is there any "Expression Editor"?

- VEX only deals with manipulation of points' attributes (or pixels, or samples). So when you connect some geometry to a VEX SOP for example, it spits out the modified geometry. You can connect OBJ channels to geometry attributes with expressions ("point" expression for example). Also, if you design your VEX operator as a CHOP (channel operator), then it works on channels which are easier to connect to other parts of Houdini (either by exporting or with expressions).

- There's no dedicated interface for that, but you can do it simpler, by drag n drop. Open the parameter box of the source operator in a floating window (right click on the operator > Parameters...) and drag the desired channel on the targeted one.

- Alt-E while typing an expression in a parameter field.

Dragos