Separate Shadows

Hi Guy's,

I' m looking for a way to render my scene in different passes.

The main setup that I want to use is one exr that contains the following passes: color, diffuse, occlusion, shadow.

Everything works fine but I see the shadows also in the diffuse pass and I don't want that.

I can make a different take for the shadow pass and render that separately, but then I have 2 exr files. Isn't there a way to have shadows on my shadow image plane and no shadows in my diffuse pass without having to do 2 renders?

All suggestions are welcome.

thx,

c

You can, but it depends the way your shader is builded, you can include the shadow pass inside your shader, the way I do this is copying the contents of the shadowmatte shader inside your actual shader and make a parameter node to export it, personally I prefer to render it separately unless you need something more specific.

I am a little noob with shaders in houdini so I don´t know how to help you with the difuse - shadow stuff, maybe a light loop before the difuse export could help you solve this, I am not sure.

I hope it helps.

Hi Guy's,

The main setup that I want to use is one exr that contains the following passes: color, diffuse, occlusion, shadow.

Everything works fine but I see the shadows also in the diffuse pass and I don't want that.

I can make a different take for the shadow pass and render that separately, but then I have 2 exr files. Isn't there a way to have shadows on my shadow image plane and no shadows in my diffuse pass without having to do 2 renders?

thx,

c

Hi Guy's,

thx,

c

It's perfectly doable, but implies designing your own illuminance() loops, or duplicating every light casting shadows and separating lighting models. If this effort is worth to be undertaken instead of just render second pass with shadow matte shader it's up to you, but I feel it's not. You can always join plates from two *.exr files, after rendering... ;)

Hey guys, thx for the feedback.