Problem (Particles)

Omy

Hi everyone,

Im a beginner to Houdini,I am creating a meteor effect.I want the trail size of the meteor to die as soon as it hits the ground.Please help me.I have uploaded my work file

Sincerely,

Om Kapoor

Here's a really simple solution. I didn't take time to tweak it to make it look great. But anyway, I first created a name on the birth group on your "source" node in the popnet. (Called initial). Then I created a sphere that is keyframed to move down the trail. (killtrail_sphere) Then, at the end of your POPNET, i created a collision with the sphere and the group "initial" in order for them to die on contact. So there is just one way you could do it. However, to make things more natural, it would be nice to have them blow away rather than just have the trail shrink. For example, Using the sphere or any other primitive to create a new group, you could make a force on just that group. Hope that helped a little.

met8doubt_trailKill.hipnc

Edited by DeehrBYU

Here's a really simple solution. I didn't take time to tweak it to make it look great. But anyway, I first created a name on the birth group on your "source" node in the popnet. (Called initial). Then I created a sphere that is keyframed to move down the trail. (killtrail_sphere) Then, at the end of your POPNET, i created a collision with the sphere and the group "initial" in order for them to die on contact. So there is just one way you could do it. However, to make things more natural, it would be nice to have them blow away rather than just have the trail shrink. For example, Using the sphere or any other primitive to create a new group, you could make a force on just that group. Hope that helped a little.

That was a clever way of doing that..Found a new trick! However i dint understand the second method,U mean to select the particles and adding the force? can u give an example file to show that

Sincerely,

Om Kapoor