Spaceman Rigging WIP

tuna

Well it's the 3rd time I've rigged this guy (in 3 different applications, you can see what he looks like rendered back in softimage HERE), all in experimentation and, well, fun. (apparently I'm a masochist).

So here is a small step I've reached in Houdini. I've built in the animation logic part (ik/fk switching, twistspline OTLs which i will probably upload at some point, IK/FK twistspline spine, and a bunch of other controls for shrugging/orientation/explicit joints, etc.) But now comes the part where I've attached all of the deformers in their own little subnet and actual viewport interface construction begins (which I find fun, because as an animator I touch this part the most for the rest of the project).

So here's the video: http://www.puppetstring.com/hdn_rig_ui.swf

I still need to add colours for left/right/middle/disabled controls. I also need to change some of the groups I'm using, because things like the explicit knee, you can see I have trouble grabbing it at the end of the video (although it's not really a control you use loads of).

There are also lots of other controls for things like the layered IK clavicle (for elbow plants) and noodles for the bendy twistsplines that drive the arms and legs (to make curved shapes) that will have to be toggled on in the animator's controls. Those will simply have to be floating controls, much like a conventional rig, because I ran out of places to shove things on the mesh itself.

I also wish there was a better display option for pre/selection highlighting (show name on hover option), as the obnoxious wireframe is very clunky and actually obtrusive. I can't think of how it's possible to change this. Anyone have any suggestions? Can I beg SideFX to add in some options? :)