Less than 14.1" form-factor laptop for H11 ?

saajjj

Hi guys,

I'm a seasoned XSI professional and am looking forward to learning Houdini :) I'm looking to purchase a laptop with a screen no more than 14.1 inches. Sadly, I can't seem to find anything decent in that form factor. The best I could find was the Lenovo ThinkPad T 401s (i5-520M 2.4GHz, 14.1" screen, nVidia NVS switchable graphics (3100m or onboard Intel), 4GB RAM, 120GB SSD). Since I plan to be learning Houdini during my endless commute I need good build quality, hence Lenovo. The one thing holding me back is that the 3100m seems to be a 'weak' card. If anyone is running H11 on this particular card, can you please verify? Any other choices?

For the curious, 14.1" is the largest screen that I can semi-comfortably work on while commuting.

If anyone has experience with running H11 on a laptop whose screen is no more than 14.1" inches, can you please recommend a brand/model?

Thanks for any suggestions.

Hi guys,

I'm a seasoned XSI professional and am looking forward to learning Houdini :) I'm looking to purchase a laptop with a screen no more than 14.1 inches. Sadly, I can't seem to find anything decent in that form factor. The best I could find was the Lenovo ThinkPad T 401s (i5-520M 2.4GHz, 14.1" screen, nVidia NVS switchable graphics (3100m or onboard Intel), 4GB RAM, 120GB SSD). Since I plan to be learning Houdini during my endless commute I need good build quality, hence Lenovo. The one thing holding me back is that the 3100m seems to be a 'weak' card. If anyone is running H11 on this particular card, can you please verify? Any other choices?

For the curious, 14.1" is the largest screen that I can semi-comfortably work on while commuting.

If anyone has experience with running H11 on a laptop whose screen is no more than 14.1" inches, can you please recommend a brand/model?

Thanks for any suggestions.