Re-create Sci-Fi Art WIP - Metropolis

DBaciu

Hello everyone!

This is my first Houdini challenge.

I decided to enter the challenge because it's a great motivation to learn.

First of all, I'm new to Houdini (in the last, I don't know, maybe two months I tried to learn it and I think I made a lot of progress). I tried to get a grasp of Houdini several times in the past, also, but to be honest, it was brutal. Maybe my general 3d skills was not enough for it. But now I'm beginning to think that Houdini is the most beautiful 3d application.

About the challenge, I want to make some city, some megalopolis, in the style of some of the images from the reference section. Another source of inspiration for me is the great movie "Metropolis".

Because I tried so hard to understand the procedural work-flow of Houdini (this was the point anyway) I forgot about the contest, so maybe I'm a little late with my work for it.

So, this is what I have for now. I tried to do everything in a procedural manner, and believe me, it really is.

I hope you like it!

Thank you!

post-6076-128817953972_thumb.jpg

post-6076-128817965573_thumb.jpg

post-6076-12881980349_thumb.jpg

post-6076-128819811269_thumb.jpg

post-6076-128819965739_thumb.jpg

post-6076-128819968737_thumb.jpg

• 2 weeks later...

Hello everybody, and thank you for your comments!

I'm back again with some progress.

I tried to figure out the materials and mapping work-flow in Houdini.

Also I tried to make a good composition with what I have so far.

post-6076-128896407787_thumb.jpg

post-6076-128896411587_thumb.jpg

post-6076-128896428448_thumb.jpg

Hello again everybody!

I have nothing really new to show you, just some atmosphere tests I've done.

The fist one uses v_uniform fog, and renders pretty fast.

The second one uses v_litfog.

Looks good, but renders very very very slow.

Maybe I'm doing something wrong, please, somebody can help me?

Also, I have another issue in which I need some help: