Copy attributes from 1 to many

pixelgate

Hi

I'm very new to houdini. I've started learning a few days ago and made my first scene.

I paint the size of the objects. The objects are built in a few steps.

Now I got a problem:

After a sphere, some tubes are copied on the spheres. But the tubes are not scaled correctly. One step before, I could solve the problem with a attribcopy node because tsource and target points had the same numbers.

Now I need to copy pscale from 1 to many points. How could I achieve this?

Best regards,

pixelgate

Hi

I'm very new to houdini. I've started learning a few days ago and made my first scene.

I paint the size of the objects. The objects are built in a few steps.

Now I got a problem:

After a sphere, some tubes are copied on the spheres. But the tubes are not scaled correctly. One step before, I could solve the problem with a attribcopy node because tsource and target points had the same numbers.

Now I need to copy pscale from 1 to many points. How could I achieve this?

Best regards,

pixelgate

you can use a point() expression to lookup a value and apply it to your many objects. Add a point SOP to your target pts and in the 'pscale' value, point("../tsource", 0, "pscale", 0)

That will look at the pscale value of the point number '0' on the SOP "../tsource".

Hope this helps

You could also create a point group using your source point. Now in the attrib copy sop specify just that group as a source.

It should copy the attribute to all the points in your input geometry unless specified a destination group.

Creating selection using group sop is a very powerful and flexible way of working. You may want to explore it further, if you are new to Houdini.

Cheers,

thank you SpencerL and vectorblur.

I forgot to say that I need to have multiple "one - to many" point selections.