mohit

Hi guys,

I am relatively very new to Houdini and would like to seek help from all you Houdini Masters.

I would like to know:

How Can I achieve the original color of my texture map in Houdini Fur because when I try to apply my color map I don't get the desired result which I suppose is mainly due to the color ramp provided in the diffuse section of Fur shader.If I make it white it make texture too bright which is kind of multiplier.

Also I would like to know if some one can describe the function and implication of blend color map ramp in fur shader, unfortunately Houdini's help doesn't provide much info related to its' function and use.

I would also like to know how can I generate or take out the length map as an image file so that I can further make necessary adjustments to the map in another paint programe such as Photoshop.

Does Houdini support feature such as UV set which is very helpful in software such as MAYA for distributing and using UV space in more appropriate manner.

Can we use custom curves with Houdini's Fur, if yes then how what is the procedure for it.

How can I implement new hair model with Houdini.

Hope you guys would disregard my lack of knowledge of Houdini and would come forward with some reply for my better understanding of Houdini.

How Can I achieve the original color of my texture map in Houdini Fur because when I try to apply my color map I don't get the desired result which I suppose is mainly due to the color ramp provided in the diffuse section of Fur shader.If I make it white it make texture too bright which is kind of multiplier.

try starting from a new 'material shader builder shop' with only a lighting component (pysically based hair model or surface model with hair normal) and a texture read. building a fresh shader really simplifies things and allows you to add only the features you need to your fur shader.