Mushroom Cloud Pyro sim problems

hcs

Hi everyone, I'm working on a pyro sim of a mushroom cloud and having trouble getting the kind of control over the shape that I'm looking for. The sim works well for about a second, making a nice mushroom cloud that rises, but then it starts to stretch in strange ways. I've tried adjusting the gas released, cooling rate etc. to try and get a better result but I think I'm missing something here. Does anyone have any advice/suggestions? I'm pretty new to pyro and am not sure what I'm missing here.

Thanks

mushroomCloud.hipnc

It depends pretty heavy on what your after.

When you want to create a atomic bomb with the typical mushroom cloud I would that the basic physical correct set up (what you have) gives you what you are after.

Take a look at this

and you will see that the movement is basically the same...

Just keep in mind that the real bomb do not trigger on impact but actually somewhat 5000meters over ground.

And if you want to take is further, the explosion it self is not responsible for the destruction, its the shock wave that gets triggered by it.

Add more details by using voxels smaller grid sizes....

If you are after a more stylized explosion that hold the shape better, then I would suggest a animated emitter (a torus for example) that scales and moves up at the same time.

Then use that to emit billowy smoke, set the bouncy to something very very low if not negative to get a "waterfall" effect with the smoke rolling down, also use a higher viscosity setting.

With this you should hold the shape that you want.

Then use a particle system with the same emitter as for the smoke sim, advact the particles by the first smoke simulation.

Then feed the new particle system as fuel into a fire simulation that gets triggered by a very hot static RBD.