particle systems in Houdini/Maya

Hey guys,

I have some experience using Maya's particle systems, and I am interested in experimenting with Houdini's particles. I've been doing some investigating and I've found that many people say that Houdini has an edge. I would like to know what they mean. For instance, in Maya, in order to get your particles to behave exactly the way you want, you need to control the system with expressions...that is, if you want complex behaviour and animation out of your particles. I read an opinion from somebody who prefers Houdini's particles: the reason they are better than Maya's particles is because they are easier to use due to far less expression writing...complex particle animation can be created right off the shelf in Houdini without writing nearly as many complex expressions as in Maya. Is this true? I am trying to understand this, and I am picturing the Houdini particle interface containing emitter tabs with thousands of extra attributes and way more option boxes than in Maya, that is, containing ready made expressions that one would need to write for themselves in Maya.

If anyone can shed some light, it would be much appreciated. Thanks, SM.

:D

I'm fairly new to Houdini as well, and know have some experience with Maya's particle system. Anyhow, one idea is wrong: Houdini isn't the program with 1000 of options in an emitter tab or alike, it's rather the opposite case, but combing all those Operators available you get an myrad of options. Quite a few represent typical "coding" structures and they are very general and therefore really flexible, they usually only care about the right data format (e.g. vector, float etc.).

Using the operator networks you kinda create code in a pretty visual way (this won't stop you from writing expressions here and there). Another thing that I like about Houdini, since these operator networks "represent" some data-flow chart you have very much control on when some operator will get evaluated.