NOOB question about modeling using illustrator files as a starting poi

Baldric

Hello everyone,

my issues might seem like easy ones to most of you, but since I'm new to Houdini, I thought I would ask for help from more experienced people... :-)

So, I am using some designed paths from adobe illustrator as my starting point for geometry in houdini. All I want is to be able to extrude these shapes into geometry blocks I can use for all kinds of things in houdini. But I am having problems getting proper topology out of it.

Attached with this message is a houdini file with my current stand, plus the illustrator file I have been using for the example.

The first problem I had was getting a high enough resolution geo out of the extrusion. Out of the box it is far too low poly. This got better when I resampled the curves, but now I have the problem, that I don't get any points in the "corners" of the shapes... The resample distributes the points smoothly and well, but I haven't found a way to make it behave such that it would put points also where there was a point in the original curves, which would give me predictable corners. Is this possible in some way?

The second issue is with the front and back of the extrusion. They are created as a single face/primitive, but what I need is a resolution and topology that matches that of the side, so I will have good and predictable topology for beveling the edges etc. How can I achieve this?

Also, I am not getting the poly bevel to give me the results I would expect either...

Does anyone have any answers to these questions, or a few minutes to check out my script to perhaps see what I am doing wrong? I am looking for a workflow here, since I would like to be able to use illustrator files as my starting point. Help would be truly apreciated! :-)

EDIT: have also attached a jpg of the problems as they are now.

Thanks,

Doug

ai_test_houdini.rar

post-3016-0-69517200-1394800729_thumb.jp

Edited by Baldric