Flip simulation full my ram (but only after some frames: why?)

rvb3n

Hi, I'm pretty new with Houdini and I'm using it to play with Fluid simulation.

Unfortunately I have a problem: when doing a Flipbook of my simulation I can see in the task manager that my ram is full at 60%, but after some frame it get to 100% (of 32 GB) and the simulation slow down.

Is this normal? If the number of particles stay the same shouldn't every frame of the simulation need the same amount of ram?

Am I doing something wrong?

The simulation is just a flat tank with an object falling in it..

Haven't played with flips yet but my best guess would be that it's simply being cached to your memory ;3 Your presumption would be correct if you were only dealing with just static attributes but that's not the case with simulations and even though I'm not that knowledgeable I think it's safe to assume that most attributes need to be cached at every single frame for a sim to ... well ... sim ;3 

Something else I came across a few months ago - http://www.sidefx.com/index.php?option=com_forum&Itemid=172&page=viewtopic&p=140520&sid=7f5c6967245088543fe862b3f8859ade

30 gigs still sounds a lot though. Maybe you can post a scene file for the technical guys to take a look ?

Hi Georgie and thank you for the quick answer!

The discussion you linked seems exactly what I'm experience!

Is there a way to make Houdini cache the simulation not in the ram but on the disk when doing test with a Flipbook (I don't want to make a ROP Output Driver)?

I read that a solution is to switch to Linux but I'm not very found of this option, anyway I guess I could give a try with Ubuntu (does Hudini work with 14.04?).

Tomorrow I'll clean the scene (I'm not allowed to share the model I'm using) and I'll share it here: hope someone has other suggestion!

Go through this post, there are some hacks for windows,

http://www.sidefx.com/index.php?option=com_forum&Itemid=172&page=viewtopic&t=30531&highlight=memory+leak