Velocity field from animated geometry

clever_beast

Hello there,

i'm stuck in a particle simulation, here is my issue :

I have an animated bird geometry that goes through a cloud of particles, and I want his wings to create wind and swirls. 

I managed to compute velocity with a trail node... but i can't find a way to have a vector field simulation out of it. 

Can anyone help me ?

(it may be a stupid question... but i'm new with houdini and i'm a bit lost between the different tools)

Here's one way to build a vel volume from a trail.  You can then use the vel volume in an advect by volume node in your dop pop.  Check it out.  This might be enough for your project.

vel field from points_v001.hip

I find you get a better result if you create a big container of smoke and let your vel volume disturb that.  Have your points floating in the big container and they will be affected by the disturbance of the big object.  But that's a little more involved and this file will be simpler to understand and hopefully get you going in the right direction.

Let me know if it helps.

Thank you for your quick answer.

Your vel volume technique works well (thus, i don't really understand how the velocity affects the visibility of the volume)...

I was wondering if there was a way to add a feather to the volume. I tried to add a volume feather/volume blur, but it didn't seem to work. I guess I can manage to do it with a volumeVOP or something.

When you talk about a container of smoke, you talk about a smoke object and a smoke solver, right ?

I created a container, collision with the object works, but how can i manage to affect my particles with the smoke container's vectors ?

I tried with a "POP advect by volume", with velocity source set to "DOP data", but it doesn't work...

I let you check my setup, if you have time :)

Thanks

vel field from points_B_v002.hip

Edited by clever_beast