Question around Particles and VDB

Kirosana

Hi everyone, i'm pretty new to Houdini and I'm a bit stuck right now.

I want to do a simulation of someone walking the snow using the PBD feature.

I have a simulation with 2.8 Millions particles (Upres from 300K particles) and I want to get rid of the "Particles" effec and get a render like this : https://vimeo.com/115714070

I understood that I need to use VDB to transform my particles, but I don't find the proper way to get this result. 

If anyone can guide me a bit or give some hints  :)

Thank you :)

I put the render i actually have, and the hip file, just in case.

post-12865-0-11240500-1437643073_thumb.j

Snow_Walk.hip

Edited by Kirosana

Yes I know. I get the point of using Vdb From Particles while doing Flip Simulation, to have a mesh for the water etc.

But here I'm trying to get a volume from the particles, by using VDB From Particles, then Convert to with the volume option. But from there, i'm stuck and can't get anything on the render :/

I tried with Volume Rasterized Point with my Sim and the Convert To Volume fo the Base Volume Input, but still nothing.

Edited by Kirosana

Apologies, I didn't check your scene before replying—you indeed already used this node! :)

Mantra do support rendering VDBs since Houdini 12.5 so it shouldn't be required to convert them to volume before rendering. This would anyways defeat a bit the purpose of using VDBs in the first place.

I can't play with your scene as I'm still using Houdini 13 and can't load the sand solver from your scene, so I made up a new scene instead that seems to render fine using only the `VDB From Particles` node. Feel free to check it out, but I believe that the only thing you're missing is to check `Fog VDB` in your `VDB From Particles` node instead of `Surface VDB`. `Fog` outputs a density field, while `Surface` is for level sets (SDF).

render_vdb.hipnc

Ok i got the point with your file. Thanks.