Using cloth attributes

mystikl

I'm new to Houdini, and I've been playing with cloth simulation for a few days now. I'm trying to paint stiffness on a grid but I can't figure out how to use the attributes like shellstretchstifness. The masterclasses are either for older version (I use H 14) or don't show the steps to setting up the attributes.

I've attached the file I've been working so you can tell me what I'm doing wrong and if you could fix it that would be even better.

Thank you.

TEST2.hip

Hi and welcome :),

I am posting you a setup of painting stiffnes attribute. At first I paint desired pattern using Paint SOP. This node will create point vector attribute Cd. But Cloth solver requires shellstretchstiffness primitive float attribute. So I promoted Cd from points to primitives and copied value from red channel (doesn't matter which channel as I painted it in grayscale) to this attribute. Cloth solver then uses this value (I painted it from 0 to 1) as multiplier to parameters found in Cloth Object. I also changed bits here and there in your setup.

You can find more info in documentation.

Hope it helps,

Juraj

jt_paint_cloth_attribs.hipnc

Hi and welcome :),

I am posting you a setup of painting stiffnes attribute. At first I paint desired pattern using Paint SOP. This node will create point vector attribute Cd. But Cloth solver requires shellstretchstiffness primitive float attribute. So I promoted Cd from points to primitives and copied value from red channel (doesn't matter which channel as I painted it in grayscale) to this attribute. Cloth solver then uses this value (I painted it from 0 to 1) as multiplier to parameters found in Cloth Object. I also changed bits here and there in your setup.

You can find more info in documentation.

Hope it helps,

Juraj