Fractured Cloth Activation By Color Attribute?

dtarr77

Hi guys,

Currently, I am working on a project where I need a way to get a fractured geometry cloth simulation to activate each fracture piece according to the color attribute.  The plan is that a curve, representing the path of another object's motion, will pass through the fractured object causing it to begin floating away and disintegrating from the point of impact/contact. 

I am still learning Houdini and have only been working in it consistently for about 6 months or so, but I have the effect mostly working with the disintegration and cloth simulation and such.  What I can not seem to figure out is how to activate the pieces as the color envelopes the object.  I have found other forums posts that have given some good routes (That's where I got the color transfer route to where it is currently at) but they are for fractured RBD objects and I have not been able to get those to work for a cloth object in DOPs.  I have the color working in SOPs but just need help getting that into DOPs and controlling the activation of each piece.  I have created an example file and attached it below.  Thank you in advance for any help/advice you guys can provide.

Thanks,

Dustin

P.S. As a bonus problem solve:  one piece seems to get stuck on nothing, as if it is constrained to an invisible point in space, but it has no constraints.  I am not sure why yet.   I'm going to keep looking into the issue, but if anyone knows why please let me know.  Thanks.

ClothFracture_Test.hiplc

Hello Juraj Tomori,