DOPS/POPS without Shelf Tools (transitioning to Houdini)

I'm new to Houdini, transitioning from Max(TP, pflow, Magma...etc.). I started by messing around probably how everyone else did by using the shelf tools. However, I'm now trying to really dive into it using the application as it is intended. I figured that I would start off with a very straightforward and simple example from scratch - NO SHELF TOOLS.

What I did first was actually create what I intended to make using the shelf tools first and then see what was going on and then start from scratch. In my example I just want to Have a Torus fall and have particles emit off the surface as it falls. The Rigid Body part is working perfectly, but the POP part of it is where I'm having problems.

As soon as I add POPS into the mix (even if I make a different DOP network) I keep running into the problem that the particles seem to emit from a "ghost" of the torus geometry. One thing I noticed and can't seem to find an answer for are these 3 things.

1. When I use the shelf tool to emit particles from the surface, it fills in information into the "DOP Import" Node that it creates. The information is created in the Object Mask of the node. I can't seem to find what an Object Mask actually does (I'll revisit this later).
  2. The shelf tool creates a SOP node with a DOP I/O and I don't know why.
  3. When using the shelf tools to make this setup, I noticed that If I deleted the information that was in the Object Mask of the DOP Import node at the end of the tree, the particles in the DOP Network wouldn't work at all.

To revisit, what I was saying previously - I don't know what an Object Mask does/is for, and the information that was added when using the shelf tool route looked incredibly arbitrary to me. I included some images of my basic setup. Here is the top level Object view: 38j5L5n.jpg

You can see what I'm talking about where the torus falls, but the particles are emitting from the "Ghost" geo.