Terms about Fluid Sim ,Some Questions ?

GAS

Hello , everyone, 

I have a question about fluid sim , importance fluid term ? 

I getting start to learn fluid using houdini ?

What Difference between incompressible fluid and compressible ?

What is Divergance  ??

What is fluid implicit particles , and the advantage of flip ? 

Final question ,What  the best scientific resourses (books or any articles ) for effects artist ?

Edited by mohamedkamal

You'll want to do some google/bing/duckduckgo research.  Most of your questions can be found answered through there.

As for papers check out all the SIGGRAPH papers, there's plenty.

and of course a sidefx tut

https://www.sidefx.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=3168&Itemid=412

Edited by kleer001

This is my understanding of it all... I'm no programmer or maths expert, so some of this may be a tad naive and/or wrong :-P

Incompressible fluid is how most-if-not-all CG industry fluid sim solutions will model fluid - it presumes that in fluids like water and air, compressibility is negligable, and so leaves it out because, as I understand it, simulating it is mathematically far more complicated (for no real benefit unless you're doing it for a scientific application)

DIvergence is what you (usually) don't want in a fluid simulation... the pressure solve is the process of taking a divergent velocity field and iterating over it until the divergence is removed - basically, so that fluid can't move *through* other fluid... it always has to go around - so you end up with swirling motion.  With divergence, the fluid can grow/compress in volume.  That can actually be used as an artistic tool - most commonly in explosions - you can inject intentional divergence into the sim, and it'll expand rapidly.