Hello everyone!

I'm new in Houdini and once when i learn some stuff on Vimeo i find this: 

Now I struggle for some days to try to repeat this.) With simulation I had no problem: take a Tube and assign Fractured Solid Object, then I Dopimport simulation from AutoDop to new geometric node. My main problem is to receive that organic shape on new parts and make his smooth. I am not sure but seems i solve now how to get a displace on inner faces of geometry. But how to smooth geometry? VDB or Particle Fluid surface lose UV position.

What i have now:

1fc03ba5c3c7a4f4f726ad77147c705b.gif

Thank you!

OrganicSimulation.hipnc

Edited by Alcofialco

voronoi fractures are likely to create a bit sharp geometry, you will have to smooth it quite a bit if you want to use that directly.

You can try using the subdivide SOP to better keep the UVs that you have. but to get organic chunks,
you may have to recombine certain fragments using VDB, which would mean losing your UVs again.

If rendering time is no issue, you can just bake the texture data into the vertex attributes and render it that way without any UVs.

or you could find a way to reproject your UVs somehow.

• Like 1

To get this kind of effect you should try POP Grain instead, it's very effective for this kind of look and it should be less time consuming.

For simulation use very high clumping stiffness and higher kinetic value than default.

For meshing : use vdb from particles, do some vdb magic (smoothing, contract, expand or whatever) then convert your vdb to mesh.

• Like 1

10 minutes ago, Spyrogif said:

To get this kind of effect you should try POP Grain instead, it's very effective for this kind of look and it should be less time consuming.

For simulation use very high clumping stiffness and higher kinetic value than default.

For meshing : use vdb from particles, do some vdb magic (smoothing, contract, expand or whatever) then convert your vdb to mesh.

Thank you! I try it right now!