How to resume a Flip simulation

Homer0

Hi all, i'm just starting to learn Houdini and diving into some Flip simulations; but i encountered a little problem.

I found that to cache my simulation i can save the sequence of .bgeo files throught the Import node of ParticleFluid, but let's say i have a very long simulation, how can i run half of it, then stop and finish it in another moment?
 I found some information about a .sim file, but in Houdini 15 there's no such thing like "Explicit Cache" (probably the command is changed). And more important, with these .sim file, houdini does save the simulation as well the particles?

Also, a (probably silly) question: when i import the .bgeo cache in a new scene, it's all grey, with no point coloration based on the velocity; but when i create a digital asset from that cache and i import it in maya with houdini engine, the velocity color comes back. Any change to enable that color in the .bgeo chace in houdini?

Thanks in advance ^^

Edited by Homer0
  • Like 1

I havent got into FLIP yet but for pyro there is a save checkpoints option on your sim node that writes .sim files that you then load into the initial state to resume from there. May be the same for flip

In dops Under cache tab u have an option to save checkpoints(.sim files) and you can specify the interval to save checkpoints. In simulation tab u can load the initial state.If this causes problems u can use file node inside dops mention the path,set it to write and in activation u can specify the interval to activate(Ex:$F%50==1)  and load it in intial state tab. To visualize velocity u can find the speed of velocity(length) and call the attribute into color from attribute.

visspeed.hip

awesome thanks ^^

Another couple of questions: