Avalanche smoke effects

Crystallynx

Hello, 

I'm still relatively new to Houdini but I've been trying to create an avalanche effect to add onto a matt painting I've layed out in Nuke.

So far I've made a basic terrain, a particle sim that I converted to VDB so that's working okay so far and sliding across the terrain. Then I added a smoke effect to be emitted on top using Pyro FX billowy smoke. 

However, I'm running into a few problems;

One is that smoke effect is being hard to control and I can't seem to get it to react anything like an avalanche and I can't seem to get the rendered view to look correct in terms of the smoke.  

Any help would be really appreciated as I've hit a bit of a wall with this one. I've linked to a file with my work so far. 

Thanks!

Pyro_Flow_6.hipnc

Edited by Crystallynx

Here is my revision of your scene.

• I added an Extrude Volume to the landscape, instead of the polyextrude to make the terrain have a lot of boxy space to insure better collision.
  • I returned Gravity to the defaults.
  • I enabled hits on the particles and set their collision state to Slide.
  • I added Drag to the particle system and reset Friction to the default of 1.0 for the collision surface and the popobject.
  • I added the temperature field to the resize_container node so it better detects the bounds. I also disabled Max Bounds so the box can grow as needed.
  • I lowered the Scale Source Volume and the Scale Temperature inside the Smoke Simulation drastically. I set it to 0.05 instead of 1.0. Keep these two values matched. If you change one, change the other.
  • Inside the smoke source I disabled Curl Noise on the Density and enabled Curl Noise on the vel field.
  • I reduced Bouancy Lift and reset the Simulation parameters to their default. This removed the time scale and viscosity attempts you had in place.