HeightField geometry data driving shader?

Hello gents,

I was pointed to these forums by one of our Houdini TDs. Myself I am a texture artist/3D generalist eagerly diving into Houdini for the first time (while being in a production, as it happens).

My question:

So I have a piece of terrain generated by the new Height Field nodes (see attached image). Lovely. What I want, is for the mask data (the red in the 3D viewport is an example of one of the masks based on height) to drive the shader live, not through a static exported image file. As I see this problem, how do I cross that divide (from the SOP (I guess) world to the SHOP (or is it VOP) world?

One suggestion I have received was to use the Attribute Promote node, to sort of flag the data I want on the geometry side, and using a Bind node on the shader side to bring that data into the shader. In reality I haven't managed to make it work. There are around 18 different attributes on the bottom most nodes - which one to flag? Is it a data conversion type problem perhaps (trying to fit a round peg into a square hole)? Or do I need to bake the HeightField into actual geometry first perhaps? Or am I looking at this the wrong way around?

I sincerely hope you can help...

houdini_terrain003.thumb.jpeg.4f91e9fcaff0713b969da0774ecc5481.jpeg

Edited by marque_pierre

Not sure if this is the recommended way. For some reason I can't seem to import the fields in the /mat/ context. However, if you use the height field convert node, you'll get a polygonal version of your terrain with all the attributes. Once you have that you can simply use a bind to import that attribute and control whatever you want in the /mat/ context

G3NcedI.png

Thanks vtrvtr. That approach seems to work up to a certain point.

If you only have two different features you want to texture, then a single mask will do.