Would You Recommend Houdini To A Beginner?

Miso

Hello everyone,

I am interested in learning about 3d but do not possess much in the way of technical aptitude and my math skills are elementary at best. In your opinion, is this field of study best suited for strong logical thinkers and problem solvers? I'd like to give it a shot but figured I would ask those who know if I should even bother, seeing as I am not too tech savvy. Your advice is truly appreciated.

Best,

Miso

It kinda depends what you mean by not much in the way of technical aptitude. Certainly having a lot of technical aptitude is an advantage but what you really need is the ability to learn complex software packages.

In my experience if someone struggles with something like photoshop and thinks it's hard to learn then 3D probably isn't for them, however if you learnt photoshop in a week just by playing around with it and didn't even need to read the manuals then 3D shouldn't be too hard.

Having said that, should you learn Houdini, well since it's free to try then I would say give it a go, but be aware that if you don't know much or any 3D already then Houdini might be hard going purely because there is less out there in the way of tutorials, but if you are happy to hunt around for stuff it is there and it is slowly improving.

It's a bit of a shame really because Houdini is probably really the best package for learning 3D because once you do master it you will really know your onions and that is useful whatever package you end up with.

The other way to go about it if you are a little unsure is to reverse things a bit, find a 3D tutorial book that you like and is well written and then see if there is a free version of the software you can use to learn it. Once you have the basics down then fire up Houdini, contary to a lot of myths out there Houdini works almost exactly like any other 3D package, the basic techniques are all the same the only thing that changes is the workflow and interface.