Texure Projeciton

Wan

hello,

i'm new in Houdini. I've heard Houdini is a great tool for effect shots. I watched video tutorials and I' m impressed with its ability to perforn complicated task.

What's came to my mind: I was wondering if I can setup some bizzare texture map workflow but have no idea how to start. Mayby some of you can halp me or send tips. I'd like to project texture from camera (or light). Texture is animated. And it goes like this:

in $F=1 "my_text.01.pic" is projected from position 1

in $F=2 "my_tex.02.pic" is projected from position 2

(up to now it's simple projection from moving camera... )

but "my_text.01.pic" in frame $F=2 remain projected from position 1

in $F=3 we have my_tex.01.pic from pos1, my_tes.02.pic from pos 2 and my_tes.03.pic from pos 3

so in every frame new texture is added to already projected textures. All positions are in camera path so I need project textures from every position of camera, but textures should "stick" somehow to surface ones projected from proper position.

Please don't tell me, that I have to setup cameras or lights for every frame and project textures one by one... if I have 200 frames it wouldn't be nice.

I sure there is simplier way to achieve it!

thanks,

Wan.

It would take too long to write an explanation, so here's a hip file showing one approach.

tmp1.hip

Briefly:

1. Projector lights are instanced on each point along the camera path.

2. The camera's in-path positions and orientations are extracted using CHOPS.

3. A string point attribute is added to alter the SHOP parameters for each point.

4. The "slides" being projected in this example are the result of Font COPs showing the frame number. But they don't have to be.

5. The camera path in this example is procedural, but it doesn't need to be.

Please don't tell me, that I have to setup cameras or lights for every frame and project textures one by one... if I have 200 frames it wouldn't be nice.

26857[/snapback]