FX Artist position at Blizzard - Fulltime

zwick

https://careers.blizzard.com/en-us/openings/oM1o8fw3

Hello, I come here a lot of Houdini help and techniques and just to see what people are doing with Houdini!

We are looking for a FX artist for an unannounced project here at Blizzard. My name is John Zwicker and I’m a senior artist here on this unannounced project. We are still relatively small and I am currently working on vfx helping out where I can but I’m more of a generalist who works a lot on environments. The effects we are making are realistic (smoke, explosions, fire, clouds, etc.) but have a need for a lot of organic and fantastical effects as well. We have been experimenting a lot with Houdini for not just rendering out flipbooks but using it to help create destruction, procedural masking and placement of assets in a scene, auto generation of LODs, procedural modeling, etc. We believe Houdini is the future of game production for not only better workflows and speed but keeping our team size down. 

This person will help define the tech and workflows of creating VFX for our projects. We want you to not only work with people on our team but vfx artists across all of Blizzard because you will help “pave the way” of vfx creation throughout the studio. 

If you have any questions, feel free to reply to this post or email me at jzwicker@blizzard.com

thanks,

z

Hi, John!

I am wondering if you will consider an experienced artist from the VFX industry as a possible candidate? This question about switching careers from VFX to game dev rises frequently and I am interesting how hard it would be to get a mid or senior position. From what I know about recruiting in the US the first thing HR looks for is a fit. No fit — no chances, and luck of game dev experience is an obstacle here even if you have 20++ experience in VFX. Just want to get some thoughts from the employer point of view.

15 minutes ago, kiryha said:

Hi, John!