Tracking, Plates and Live action General advice

JodyLS27

Hi there everyone, Hope you are well.

So I have been getting some advice from Industry Professionals about building a reel and I have been watching a lot of Houdini industry live streams and a they all say the same thing, CG with plates or tracking your shot.
Now I am very new to the FX side of things and I am progressing well with Houdini but I am not sure how things work on the Comp side other than the basic channel manipulation in Nuke and separating out your render layers in an exr file but anyways.
There are going to be a lot of questions coming up, I just want to really understand how things work.

So I know with tracking you place little markers on the ground (I.E a piece of paper with an X on it lets say) and then you can track that with a Software. Now what I want to know is what is the difference between Tracking and 3D tracking or is it the same thing ?

With Plates, is it just taking a picture of something, Cleaning it up in comp and comping in your CG element or is there tracking involved as well ?
I know there is things like lighting involved which you can match by eye I guess but is there a good way to do lighting ?

Another question is what are good softwares for tracking or Plates ?
I know there is after effects but I have also heard of Boujou and Syntheys or something.

Any advice would be really helpful.
Thank you in advance and have a great day.

Jody.

The Plate is the general name given to the footage you will work on, that can be « matchmoved » / « tracked » / « 3D Tracked », depending on what meaning you put behind, and on which you may composite 3D elements, or just clean, key, compositie 2D elements etc. with a proper compositing software.