For each POINT in each GROUP

LeSill

Hello guys

I am still quite new in VEX coding and I am all day fighting with set of gravitational rules based on a membership of the points in groups. I am emitting particles, the particles are sorted to groups by 3-6 nearest points. So after couple of frames of emitting particles I have 100 groups and each groups has 3-6 points.

Now I need to set some gravitational rules for every group so the points in every group will be attracted to each other just inside the group. I got stuck here.

If anyone has any idea how to solve this issue, it would be perfect. Many thanks in advance.

ap_ParticleGravitationalAttraction_01.hipnc

your groups are not stable, it's difficult to see what you are trying to achieve

here is a file which assigns i@grp_id attribute to particles (currently based on i@id)

then modified Attract POP will make each particle attracted to the centroid of it's corresponding group, hopefulli it will give you some ideas

ap_ParticleGravitationalAttraction_01_mod.hipnc

Could you please explain me why the groups are not stable? I was trying to figure out all day, why some points belongs to two groups forexample, or why the amount of points in the groups doesn't match the amount of points I have set up for the array based on the function nearpoints. I will attach a few pics.

The whole simulation should work like this (the PDF file):

1. points are emitted from a circle

2. when they reach some position they should be clustered to groups of fxp 4-7 points and then they should be attracted to each other inside the groups by gravitational forces (something like this http://www.entagma.com/custom-particle-system-in-vex/), they should create in the end bunch of sticked particles

3. after getting near to a "magnet", the sticked particles should be attracted to the nearest point/surface of the magnet and stick on it