Seeking Solver Writing Advice

Lucy Coleclough

Hello there I am just getting into solver writing.

I am self taught and as such I have a fair few holes in my knowledge

I aim to build a material point method solver for use in a mud flow effect such as this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=42&v=jjeCDYvGJS8

To get to grips with a basic solvers I have built a mass, spring cloth solver: https://vimeo.com/343112353. However there are a few things I've come across that I can't find solutions to.

Every timestep I am accumulating a force vector on each point and then I find the acceleration using a=f/m. I find the velocity v=v0+a*@TimeInc. And I find the displacement using r=r0+v*@TimeInc.

This works quite nicely however I can't shake the feeling that the equations are completely wrong. Everywhere I look they mention using integration in order to find the displacement but it seems like a linear equation to me. Is this wrong and if so what should I be doing?

I would also like to know what the gas integrator node does internally as I find it a bit of a black box.

Many thanks

George Coleclough

18 hours ago, ColecloughGeorge said:

I would also like to know what the gas integrator node does internally as I find it a bit of a black box.

while it is a black box, you can at least estimate what it is doing depending on the simulation method set on the node: Euler, Midpoint, RK, ...

so if you research those simulation/integration methods, you may get a better idea what's going on

various game dev articles are a good source of such knowledge

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

I am not great at maths, but isnt 'accumulating' values in a solver node simply euler integration? Since your r depends on v and v depends on a which you are accumulationg, I'd say you are already using an integral to find the displacement. I'd love if someone confident in this matter could verify this.

Edited by nuki
  • Like 1

10 hours ago, anim said: