Proper Branching Topology

Milkey

Hello all.  I'm pretty new at Houdini, (about 3 weeks in), and I'm trying to figure out how to make a tool that will grow vines along a mesh, but also hold proper branching topology.  I've more or less bashed some tutorials together as well as came up with some solutions of my own, but I'm properly stuck at the topo stage.  Ideally, what I'm trying to achieve is extruding a box along a spline that can be subdivided to round it out similar to the topology in this image.  At the moment, I'm using Find Shortest Path to generate my curves along the mesh, then Fusing and Polypath to clean up the extra points/prims.  The final thing I'm doing is running my generated curves through a Polywire which has worked better for me at creating solid(ish) topo.  

Thanks!

image.png

Edited by Milkey

Three weeks in and you're already in the deep end. This is a non trivial problem you're trying to solve. I've seen solutions come out of VFX studios, but they had multiple expert users (and math geniuses) working on it for months.

What are your parameters for "proper branching topology" ? What are you trying to get that you don't already have? Certain kinds of UVs? What are you going to be doing with this geo? Projecting a texture? Baking on a 3D texture?

Also your example file is based on some geo you didn't include. Please use Tommy, everyone has that geo.

18 hours ago, kleer001 said:

Three weeks in and you're already in the deep end. This is a non trivial problem you're trying to solve. I've seen solutions come out of VFX studios, but they had multiple expert users (and math geniuses) working on it for months.

What are your parameters for "proper branching topology" ? What are you trying to get that you don't already have? Certain kinds of UVs? What are you going to be doing with this geo? Projecting a texture? Baking on a 3D texture?

Also your example file is based on some geo you didn't include. Please use Tommy, everyone has that geo.