Creating bubbling lava

durandal

I'm trying to create a single lava bubble, with the bubble extruding from the lava surface, popping, and then reforming into the base surface. I've got it like 99% there, but I can't get the bubble to actually pop and come apart. I've been struggling with this for a while (I'm a relative Houdini newbie, but not completely so) and would love a bit of help on this last portion of the thing. It's driving me completely crazy. It's the popping and separating / cooling / flying apart part that I'm just completely stumped by.

Thanks a bunch everyone.

boilingLavaSecondTry05.hiplc

Edited by durandal

I'm opening this file in 17.5.391 and the popnet is being turned into a merge node which leads me to believe you're using a much older version where popnet is still outside of the DOP context. Replacing the popnet, I was able to get it functioning but it means any example file I build you will not be able to open properly.

Part of the problem is that this setup is using a deforming volume with no velocity. The collision is not actually pushing the fluid, the volume is simply getting larger around your particles. Visually it looks correct, but the solver needs velocity to actually push your particles outward otherwise it just thinks "oh now I'm inside the volume" and tries to solve for correcting this penetration. 

You can trail the points of the spheres after your copy to get a velocity attribute. Then use a vdbfromparticles to create a velocity volume from that attribute, if you're unfamiliar, there is a plus button at the bottom of vdbfromparticles you can use to create volumes other than simple fog or SDFs from an attribute. Once you plug in the velocity of the expansion you should get a better result. 

Hope this helps. 

• Like 1

1 hour ago, Feather said: