Python event type callback for toggle in multiparm to set other node parm

haki

A python newbie here...

I'm working on a small script to make a certain workflow of swapping operator paths for filters a bit less clunky in the context of rendering (with Renderman in this case).

The idea:
1. Click a button (New Filter) to create a new filter node in the shop context - I got this working.

2. That will add a multiparm toggle+operator path. Set the operator path to the newly created filter. - Also done and working.

3. Use toggles to set (and swap) Display Filter operator path parm on the ROP node (ris1) - Far from working :)

I suspect this will have to do with ParmTupleChanged events? and here things become very fuzzy... how do I match the toggle to the operator path to evaluate the correct parm (Filter 1/2/3...)? From a tupple? I guess I need to def a function for that.

But how do I prevent more tan 1 toggle be on at a time... I'm totally stuck.

I hope that makes sence and if anyone could point me in the right direction, that'd be awesome!

Edited by haki

Instead of having a checkbox for each filter, you could have a menu like parameter, with a script that lists your multiparm value, thus you will avoid messing around with checkboxes and which of them wins.

As to the rest of your question, there are 2 common models of scripting in Houdini. I call them pull and push models.

In a push model, you hook a callback on a parameter and that callback is pushing values to other Houdini nodes. The main shortcoming of this model is not being able to set parameter values in locked assets. It also makes it hard to debug complex setups(especially not yours) when you have no idea where a parameter value came from.

In the pull model, you hook an expression on the parameter and it does the job. No problems in locked assets and no need to guess the origin of the value in it. The downside is that users won't be able to edit these parameters obviously.