kill world space motion in Vellum simulation

norse

Hi.

So I've got some Vellum experience but I'm very fresh to Houdini in general(Just to do some work in there, but it's been 10+ years since I did it in earnest).

So I'm trying to 'kill' world space motion on Vellum, thus only picking up the character motion. I've found 3 ways to do this. But I'm not overly happy with any of them.

I should specify that this is for Curves! For Cloth one of the solutions works pretty well.

1. Vellumrefframe. This node should do exactly what I want, but unfortunately it does not kill all motion, and it's highly susceptible to settings. A higher resolution or mass means the node is way less effective. Maybe I'm using it incorrectly?

2. I have an attribWrangle and an inverted transform node that esentially allows me to use sliders to control the kill motion in each axis. This is something that I desire in the final version of this. This particular one works decently and it's easy enough to hook on anything else in the scene to move in reverse. Can't say I love the idea though and if we wanna simulate anything else in here, or use different values on different characters, or even layers, it'll be very hard to manage that. But it is a bridge solution to something better.

3. A vellumAttach constraint with 'velcotyBlend' somewhat works. But has the same issues as 'vellumrefframe'. I'm guess it's done in a similar fashion, but haven't looked into it. Overall it almost gets me all the way there.

4. Lastly a vellum Pin constraint can be used for cloth and generally works quite well. It doesn't work for hair(as far as I can tell after looking around), however setting the pin type to 'soft' makes it "work". But with that being said it basically just attaches the entire strand to the character so it kills too much dynamic motion from the character.