Render a simulation

HI All,

Sorry for my question as It can be very easy for someone that knows how to use Houdini but I am a beginner and I cannot find a solution..
I am just trying to render a flow simulation but instead to render the flow simulation It renders a grey object , I suppose It s the initial geometry... How to hide It in the render ?

I have attached here 2 screenshots to show you better what I mean annd hope you can help,

Thanks a lot !

6.PNG

7.PNG

What you see in the lower image is only a visualisation of the velocity field, not the final geometry. A fluidsource node is usually used to create volumes for fluid sims. If you want to render the trails, you can scatter points in the volume and use a volumetrail sop to create trails which can be rendered.

• Like 1

3 minutes ago, haggi said:

What you see in the lower image is only a visualisation of the velocity field, not the final geometry. A fluidsource node is usually used to create volumes for fluid sims. If you want to render the trails, you can scatter points in the volume and use a volumetrail sop to create trails which can be rendered.

Thank you !  I’m trying to find a tutorial that can help to show step by step , please if you know a good tutorial for this let me know as even if you explained I understand what you mean but I want to see once how to do it in Houdini ,

thanks a lot ! 

On 19/01/2021 at 4:08 PM, haggi said:

Very first result if I search for "render velocity trail houdini" on google: https://entagma.com/colored-trails-point-advection-rendering/

:)

HI Haggi, 

I tried to follow the tutorials and work ok but the problem is that I won t have the same geometry =( , So I have a new trails but not the actual simulation, I attached here 2 screeshhots to show you better what I mean, I really tried everything, 

10.PNG

11.PNG

fluid_.hipnc

1 hour ago, haggi said: