Copy geometry along created curve by findshortestpath-Help.

Hello guys. I'm a newbie of Houdini.  I'm trying to make a procedural random cable node.

Currently, I'm struggling to distribute geometry along curves that I created by findshortestpath.
Roughly speaking, I have two problems.

1) I can't get proper normal direction on the curve. So It would be great If I get  the same normal direction as my base geometry somehow and copy my geometry along the curve.

2) would it be possible to control the number of distributing quantities?

I attached my screenshot in this post. Thank you!

model.JPG

キャプチャ.JPG

キャプチャ2.JPG

キャプチャ.JPG

Hey Haya,
I've made a quick hipfile below demonstrating a few concepts that hopefully will help answer some of your questions. I was alittle unsure about what you were after in terms of wanting to copy the normals from your original geometry. Are you trying to have the geometry align to the original geometries surface? Almost like small cars driving on a piece of geometry? Or are you referring to something else?
I've marked the nodes of interest in yellow with a spikey shape. Hopefully, it can be helpful!

Also, in the future, don't be afraid of uploading your actual hipfile itself as an attachment. More often than not it is actually easier to just download the hipfile itself and have a look rather than having a picture of the node network and having to imagine how it works.

instancing_along_path.hiplc

• Like 2

Hi Martin. Thank you for your warm reply! 

I see, I have attached the hipfile here. Also, sorry that I couldn't attach my original file since I started the base geo with my obj file. So I created the same node with just a sphere.