Is there some sense in learning Object Level Rigging as opposed to KineFX?

bentraje

Hi,

I'm new to Houdini.  (Well back and forth user).
I was wondering if I should just invest time on the KineFX toolset for rigging fully or learn also the Object Level Rigging.
I'm a rigger in other DCC. So rigging is not new to me.

That said, I would like to future proof. I used houdini before H15 on some fur. And just learned that they introduced a new fur workflow in H16 and the technical know how of the old one is potentially useless.

Will this be the same thing with KineFX vs the Object Level Rigging? I'm not talking about the concepts but the technical knowhow basically nodes of the previous system can't be opened in the next version or so.