Sweeping roll attribute per vertex

badoumba

Hello,

I just made a path and a sweep from a line. The extrapoints generated by the sweep SOP has an altitude defined by the shape of the curve itself. You can see on the attached picture that the point 71 is not at the same altitude than the point 70, and the relative altitude difference is different for each couple of points.

I would like the created surface to be plane. So point 71 has to be the same altitude than the point 70, 73 the same altitude than 72 and so on. The Point SOP doesn't provide me that flexibility as $TZ just refers to the current point but I have to make it equal to $TZ of the previous point only if it's odd number. Thus I will obtain a flat surface along the complew curve, like a road in mountains for example.

If someone has a suggestion, I am new in Houdini and don't know all the tools.

Thanx

PS:I found that tutorial

http://odforce.net/wiki/index.php/Get_points_from_primitive

Where and how should I implement that code to play with it? Thanks

post-3320-1224685990_thumb.jpg

Edited by badoumba

Er, I don't understand what you mean by "plane". You want the surface to be flat? Just use a Point SOP and replace $TY with 0?

I think he wants each segment to have the same elevation ("flat").

If that's the case, then I think the SweepSOP won't give you enough control, but you could always use a CopySOP. The CopySOP will pay attention to a few attributes when orienting the copies, two of which are the normal "N" and the up vector "up". Since you want all copies parallel to the XZ plane, you can set N={0,1,0}. Then you can use the PolyframeSOP (we finally have this, yay!) to compute two tangents orthogonal to each other and N (aka a "frame"). Use one of these two tangents as the up vector and you're done.

The resulting frames:

post-148-1224694653_thumb.jpg

The Y-values (altitude) are the same for each segment:

post-148-1224694659_thumb.jpg

orientedcopy.hip

Hi again.