rbd objects created at runtime ?

ranxerox

hey all, Is there a way to create rbd objects at runtime and continually feed them into the solver ? I have a scene where I have a bunch of candy dropping into a bowl and I almost have what I want, but it seems like the number of rbd objects is growing too fast. It seems that for every frame, all of my objects are being turned into new rbd objects, where as I would want only the new ones only to be new rbd objects. I have tried a bunch of things, but unfortunately I think I am missing something obvious (I'm a noob). I've attached the scene that I am working on, it's a .hipnc.

basically I use a copy sop to copy the individual candies onto points created in a popnet. Then these are being fed into a rbd fracture object via dopimport.

thanks for any help/suggestions.

-ranxx

candy_bowl15.hipnc

hey Steven, thanks for the link ! It turns out I was doing something almost exactly like what was described in this faq, however my setup is slightly different, as I don't want instances (the each individual piece of geometry is slightly different), so I can't use the rbdpoint dop. I almost have what I want, but I'm in this situation where it seems like I'm birthing 2 rbd objects at the same place every frame, whereas I only want one (or perhaps 2 at different places). Any chance you could take a look at my scene and see what's wrong ? It's soo close but I can't see it.

I've attached my latest version.

thanks

-ranxx

Hi,

This thread has a link to the DOPs FAQ on the SESI exchange. In the FAQ, look for number 18 - "How do I get a particle network to birth objects in a DOP Network?"

Hope it helps!

Cheers!

steven

candy_bowl18.hipnc