Surface that read Displacement?

TheAdmira1

im pretty new to VEX, so please dont mind my ignorance at the moment... basically I have a displacement I made in vex... i have several layers on the beak of a macaw that i need to be different surface colors... but honestly i dont even know where to start... i wrote a very similar set of PRman shaders last 1/4 however the actual functions that allow the surface to read the displacement do not exist in vfl? any help at all would be awesome! thanks!

Ive been using the dimport... but it doesnt want to work? heres a shot of my surface shadeer and the hip file its in ( dnt mind the displacement, there are probably a whole bunch of parameter that i do not need, but im still learning and that is the only way i could get the texture was looking for) thanks again

SnyderGlenn_P1_ProjectFile.hip

post-3685-1233082837_thumb.jpg

post-3685-1233082914_thumb.jpg

post-3685-1233082921_thumb.jpg

oh ya... and it swims like all hell if anyone can help with that as well id be more than appreciative...

You might need to double check how you're sending your uvs to the material. I could be just missing it, but I don't see them in there, which would explain the swimming.

In your displacement shader you are most likely using P or position to place the noise on your geometry.

You are getting swimming because P is with respect to the camera.

You need to add a "rest" attribute to your geometry then use the Rest Position VOP to fetch the "rest" attribute.

The idea is to use the Rest SOP up the SOP chain where the geometry isn't deforming. There is nothing magical about the rest attribute. It is just a three float vector that grabs a snapshot of the current point position. You can verify this by looking at the spreadsheet through the Rest SOP and note that rest = P.