3d mandelbrot primitive?

rende

http://www.skytopia.com/project/fractal/mandelbulb.html

http://www.skytopia.com/project/fractal/2mandelbulb.html

Just saw that and read through a bit of the forum thread linked off it and wondered if its possible to somehow plug that formula into a object node and get mantra to render similar 3d fractals? I'm really new with houdini so dont even know what to search for, or if its possible. I doubt you can generate the geometry with polygons (even a rough approximation)... it will have to be at render time right?

edit: looks like that site just died from traffic. heres the thread: http://www.fractalforums.com/3d-fractal-generation/true-3d-mandlebrot-type-fractal/

3d vs 2d fractal:

p5cGk.pngGrbDc.png

Edited by rende

That's a great goal. I can't wait to see more. If I had more time right now i'd take a stab at it but i'm extremely busy at the moment with other projects. BUT, i'll leave you with a couple resources I'd highly suggest if you're interested in this kind of thing. There is a video from TTC (The Teaching Company) called CHAOS... It's about Chaos Theory. In there there are quite a few chapters on Fractals. Here's the link to it. Another is Arthur C. Clarke - The Colors of Infinity. Then one more is Fractals Mandelbrot Set - M-SET! (I think the other two might be over on YouTube.) Hope they are of some help... (not necessarily so much on the "how to do it in houdini") ways but it's definitely worth watching if you're interested in this kind of thing ;)

Also I know After Effects has a Mandelbrot function that you can use as an effect... You might be able to get more ideas from looking into the way they are using it.

Cheers,

Jonathan

Edited by itriix