Mantra performance problem

First things first:

– This is not a “why Mantra is so slow” topic. In fact, Mantra is my first renderer, so until now, for what I read, it seems pretty fast and good.

– I came from a digital product design background and I’m really new to 3d and Houdini.

– I’m using a MacBook Pro for learning which I know its definitely not the best machine to work with 3d stuffs. (Specs: Mid 2012, 2.3Ghz i7, 8GB RAM, GeForce GT 650M 1GB)

So after this (not so happy) presentation, lets talk about my problem: I was doing a tutorial from Niels Prayer about how to make a geometry react from an audio file and after that I've tried to render a sequence of 860x540 images. I waited 14 long hours for about 12 secs of video. Is this normal for my computer specs?

I forgot to cache the geo, but I don’t know if this could be a great factor to get a faster render, could be?

I've read some topics about Mantra settings from Odforce and SideFX forum and found some interesting tips about how to get better and faster rendering trying to get down the pixel sample values, increase the max ray samples and tweak the noise level to an acceptable value.

So I’ve attached a hip file with my Mantra settings, and my machine can render this frame in about 3:13 min. This is current the best I can do in terms of speed and quality. Do you guys can check it out my file and see what I can do to get a faster render? Please feel free to hit me with tips on how to get the best of Mantra and Houdini in general.

Thanks a lot.
Cheers,

render-test.zip

_render_test_1.exr

Sounds pretty normal to me.

On my 6 core i7 from 2013 @ 4.1 GHz it takes 1:16 Minutes.

Mantra is very bad at finding thin lines and only raising the main Pixel Samples will help there, not the Ray Variance Antialiasing since if the first samples don't see the line, it does not search further (same with Depth of Field and Motion Blur). So your 6 are at the low end already, not much you can do about speed otherwise.