computer advice

FFidelis

hi  I am a novice in houdini with little experience with simulations. I need some advice from experienced houdini artists. I want to get a new pc, which would be better for sims and what should be added? budget is btw 1600-1900euros.

• Intel Core i7 7700K overcl. @4x 5.0GHz
  • 16GB DDR4-RAM PC-2400
  • GeForce GTX1070 Gaming X 8G
  • 120GB SSD + 2TB S-ATA3 HDD
  • DVD-Brenner 24x Dual-Layer
  • Corsair Wasserkühlung-water cooling
  • 7.1 AUDIO BOOST / GAMING-LAN

• Intel Core i7 7800X 6x 3.5GHz
  • 16GB DDR4-RAM PC-2400
  • GeForce GTX1060 Gaming X 6G
  • 120GB SSD + 2TB EcoGreen HDD
  • Corsair Wasserkühlung-water cooling
  • 7.1 AUDIO BOOST / Gigabit-LAN

The top option looks better. You want a high CPU Ghz. Also the 1070 8Gb is going to be faster than the 10606GB. While 16Gb system ram is a nice starting point, you will eventually want more so make sure your RAM chip options allow expansion to 32Gb on the motherboard. (i.e. you want 2 8GB chips, not 4 4GB chips starting off) Or a single 16GB if you can get that.

I think Atom is right about expanding the RAM : I am not an expert but you will want at least 2 GB of RAM per threads of your CPU.

Your 7700K is 4 cores / 8 threads, so you need at least 16 GB. The 7800X seems to be 6 cores / 12 threads, so I would go directly on 32 GB. And by the way, simulations, particularly fluids, quickly reaquire lots of RAM if you don't properly split / optimize / instance you domain of computation. Same with complex rigid body sims.

By the way, be careful with overclocked CPU : it is heating a lot if not well controled / watercooled. So it can impact the number of years you'll be able to keep your system alive : heat is the ennemy of electronic devices...