Applying Velocity (a very n00b question)

I apologize in advance for the n00bishness of this question - I am still very new to Houdini, and though I am trying to find answers myself online, in some instances (like this) I don't know enough to know what to search for.

What I'm trying to do: for a polygon, make the velocity attribute of each point effect the position of that point - i.e., actually make the velocity attribute have an effect.

I have attached the file I'm working with. What it does is receive a model of a dress, group it into different parts (the stiff bodice, the main skirt, then the parts on top of the skirt (sash, ribbon and flower)). Then does a cloth style simulation of the main skirt only (using a spring node). Then using attribtransfer, the velocity of the points of the moving skirt is transferred to the points of the static models hanging over the dress (the sash, ribbon and flower).

My goal is to have the simulation of the moving skirt, drive the movement of the non-simulated bits of material hanging over and around the skirt, so that the extra details attached to the skirt will move with the skirt (without needing their own simulations to work) - so that when the skirt bends and creases and ripples, the sash/ribbon/flower bend and crease and ripple as well.

The funny thing is - the attribute transfer node works. The sash/ribbon/flower all receive their velocity values from the skirt (have proven this by using a vopSOP to color all points using their velocities). The velocity attribute and values are there for each point. The points just don't move - the velocity values are having no effect on the position of each point.

I am sure I am doing something really obvious and really stupid - not ticking the right box or applying the right node to tell Houdini to apply the velocity to the point positions. But I don't know what obvious and stupid thing I am not doing, as I am still too new to Houdini.

Anyone's help would be greatly appreciated.