houdini to max

Hi all

I'm new to houdini I'm learning slowly I intend to use houdini in dynamics simulations use it with 3ds max

i have a problem in exporting fbx ...the meshes isn't smooth like the way it appears in houdini .. its not polygons its Triangles and it seems very hard surface even with turbosmooth 2 levels

is it a proplem from export settings or what ?

post-6167-128918328559_thumb.jpg

Edited by doctor3d

Hi all

I'm new to houdini I'm learning slowly I intend to use houdini in dynamics simulations use it with 3ds max

i have a problem in exporting fbx ...the meshes isn't smooth like the way it appears in houdini .. its not polygons its Triangles and it seems very hard surface even with turbosmooth 2 levels

is it a proplem from export settings or what ?

It's just a normals thing -- try adding a "smooth" modifier and see if that fixes it.

Did you possibly export a geometry without normals or with incorrect ones ?

If this is the case add a facet sop (and check post compute normals) before exporting. Or add a edit normals modifier in max, and reset or unify (I don't remember the exact term).

Then add smooth modifier and chose your smoothing angle (tri or quad it doesn't matter).

Hey :D

I have tried to export as a OBJ from Houdini to Maya and it is working, but if you import it back from Maya and try to export it again, it is not working.

FBX is not working me at all, it comes in Maya as an empty locator.

sorry but am not using 3dmax ;)

Cheers

Did you possibly export a geometry without normals or with incorrect ones ?

If this is the case add a facet sop (and check post compute normals) before exporting. Or add a edit normals modifier in max, and reset or unify (I don't remember the exact term).

Then add smooth modifier and chose your smoothing angle (tri or quad it doesn't matter).

not working

i tried facet node .. same result

I tried normal modifier and problem still the same