Wire problems

JDM

Hey people,

I'm new here, I'm a student at Bournemouth University, doing my MA Digital Effects.

For my current project I was inspired by the a scene from this years OFFF trailer.

OFFF 2011

The specific scene('s) can be found at 02.38-02.53 and 04.45-04.50.

but, these are quite static, I want to make these vessels move trough the environment and interact with geometry (debris, maybe even actors).

I planned to use Houdini Wires, but I cant seem to animate the wires to move trough space.

making a curve into a wire is not specifically hard, but when I want to move the constraint to drag it trough environments (and let it slide over a tube for the test) it doesn't do anything else then just hang there static, without moving an inch.

Any ideas how to do this (or other ways apart from wires that are better ?

Cheers

Jo

, but when I want to move the constraint to drag it trough environments (and let it slide over a tube for the test) it doesn't do anything else then just hang there static, without moving an inch.

Dont move the constraint in DOPs, just move the wire object itself (the whole thing, in /obj or sops)

Make sure "Use Deforming Geometry" is ticked on the wire object in DOPs too.

Would be worth posting your scene :)

Ok, I'm back,

So I see what the issue was, some reorganising of the nodes, and setting the animation parameter solved the issues I had with the animation.

But a new problem shows up, one I had before as well, it seems that moving the cables also affects the "duplicate" node, the cables seem to widen up as if underwater while moving, and, as far as I can make out it,s not something that has to do with force or so, it seems the duplicate node is to blame.

alienV5_001_move_002.hipnc