POP in DOPS little problem

thinkinmonkey

Hello all,

I'm studying the Peter Quint's Millions of Particles tutorials on Vimeo.

Well, in the first video he puts particles in DOP simulation and when he hits play, the gravity takes down particles.

I made the same with some little variations about particles, but the rest is similar.

The problem is my particles aren't affected by the gravity!!!

I put a sphere in DOP just to be sure everything is fine, in fact sphere falls, the particles don't!

Could you tell me what I'm doing wrong?

Really thanks in advance.

milionParticles_1.hipnc

Im now looking at your file, but I cant see what you did wrong.

here is simple, working example, that I just created.

SOLVED: same reason as here :D

That curl noise is one nasty thing :D

Just change Velocity Update to No Change, or dont use advection type as Update Position, but particle behavior also changes.

Check 2nd attachment

particles_DOPs.hipnc

edit_POP_DOPS.hipnc

Edited by Tom

The culprit seems to be the "advection type" on your curl noise. Change it to "Update Force" and you should be fine.

Looks, like you answered this problem, while I was testing it :D

I edited my first post.

Edited by Tom

The culprit seems to be the "advection type" on your curl noise. Change it to "Update Force" and you should be fine.

To explain this a bit. POPs has a number of default rules that update the simulation's state based on particle attributes, such as updating a particle's velocity from forces, and then computing the position based from its velocity. So if you explicitly set the position of a particle (for example), then you're telliing POPs that you want that particle to have that position. So in that case, POPs will not try to undermine you by changing the position from underneath you.

I think Ed is referring to the time-step that POPs applies to the particles for each iteration of the simulation after the rules (POP network) are evaluated.