Mixing Different viscosity's

jons

Hi all

Sorry I'm extremely new to this and have not touched Houdini but after watching a webinar by Escape-Studios I am debating switching my project from realflow/maya based to Houdini as basically I am doing my final year project at university and want to explore fluids and want to explore how fluids with different viscosity's react to freely moving surfaces so my plan is to create an smashing egg animation so yolk/white reacting with the egg shell. However for my project I don't want to use any compositing tricks I want to simply have an egg fractured with the fluid inside and mixing with each other as well as interacting with the egg shell. Which leads me to these questions;

Can Houdini mix two fluids with different viscosity's in the way realflow can and also when having a fractured object is it obvious that the object when textured is fractured or is the texture still seamless if that makes sense.

Sorry if I have not done this appropriately but i'm new and even if I do decide to use realflow for my animation as I know the software a little better already, I will most certainly be hoping to join this community over the summer to prepare for making a reel to look for a runner role

Thanks

Jon

Retaining texture uv on broken pieces: yes.

Mixing different viscosities: Not sure if out of the box, but viscosity can be approximated by blurring velocity fields, or randomizing their directions (not length), and so there should be a way to control that on a per-voxel basis with a field. It may be a bit of a setup though...

If you are new to Houdini, and you need to solve this quickly, I'm afraid it may not be a good idea.

Edited by Macha

Ok well if you want my honest opinion, in your situation use realflow.

Houdini can definitely achieve what you want quite easily, but the learning curve will be quite steep in your time frame.