Wheat field

coffeestains

Hello every one !

IM totally new to the houdini but im trying to make it my primary software ASAP ( im a maya user )... so i came up with assignment for myslef with would be "wind blowing thru wheat field".

Because im a beginner my idea for this might be bad , so i need some clues ( not expecting any one to make it for me - just point me in some directions ) .

so - heres more less effect im looking for :

and now ill tell you what i got and what im looking for :

I got :

1)GRAIN object that contains :

-tube - proxy for model of a single wheat

2)GROUND

-object merge for GRAIN and GRID -> scater , and copy node that positions single wheats on the grid in random position ( scater ) , and random rotation ( stamp atribute )

3)AUTODOP

with is a regular autodop but with added pin constrain for the wheats hold into one place , and wind force to make them wave.

WHAT im looking for now is :

1) weight / stiffnes map to add to singiel wheat to make it bend on the wind not fall like a stick.

2) how to make , singiel wheat not intersect with others , but collide

3) restrictthe angle of deflection on pinconstrain.

as I said before - I dont want any one to solve this project for me ... just point me into some directions if you please .

thank you in advance

Frank.

im attaching current .hip file to look at if what i wrote is not understandable.

grain_field.hip

all right ... so I'm stuck ... what I did was:

1) make a tube , make a wire object of it , add wire pin constrain at the root , add a wind force and copy it on to scattered grid.

PROBLEM :

1) that way every single wheat is copied after sym - so each and every one on the field acts the same way.

SOLUTION :

1) copy only geo , and make the field a wire object - and it acted quite good - as expected.

PROBLEM :

1) when i copy only single wheat geo , I get no constrain so single wheats flows around the field.

QUESTION :