Workstation Build Advice and Questions

tigger

Hello All,

I am new to these forums and this is my first post. I am almost as new to Houdini as I am to these forums, so I am just learning Houdini using Apprentice. Houdini works just fine on my current computer, but it is pretty outdated at this point. It was built back in 2007! So I'm looking at upgrading with a completely new build.

I've done a good amount of research related to a computer build that would work pretty well with Houdini and based on that I've put together a build. I would like to get some thoughts as to how this build looks and any suggestions and/or recommendations for what to change. The build is linked here:

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/lhI9

I do have some questions related to some of the info that I've found in my research:

- Is 64 GB of RAM overkill for someone just starting to learn Houdini? I'm thinking of dropping the extra set of 32 GB to save some money. Although $30 off seems like it is a good deal...

- I am most likely going to remove the second GTX 680 from the build to save money. How valueable is it to have that second GPU? If I keep (or add later) the second GPU, should the two GPUs be connected via their multi-GPU connector (SLI for nVidia)? Or should the 2 cards be left unconnected? I've never used a multi-GPU setup so I'm not 100% how to configure them.

- I've read about different combinations of SSDs and HDDs. What is a recommended setup? In the build you'll see that I've included 1 SSD. Is it worthwhile (value wise) to get a second SSD and have them in Raid 0? I already have 2 1TB 7200 rpm drives in my current computer that I can use. How should I utilize those in this new build? I read a mention of setting up the SSD as a local cache and using regular HDDs for files. Does Houdini use the OS disk as a default local cache, or does that need to be configured? Any suggestions and insight here is very helpful!