Best way to learn Houdini

dolexd

Hi,

I am new to Houdini and I am really confused on where and how to start.

Which is the best way to learn Effects, i.e, the particle system and dynamics. VOPPOP DOPS and all that. I keep hearing and seeing these names and I am really confused. Please help me. Any good books or tutorials?

Sid

you could try to check out the help & sidefx website. :) they have hundreds of tutorials on their site and more linked up.

this may be a good start: first steps - intro to houdini. 12 one hour lessons of basics and various contexts of houdini

http://www.sidefx.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=blogcategory&id=202&Itemid=361

im just starting out too, and i have to say that the sidefx website has a crap load of free, awesome, tutorials. the community here is great too. these people are like teachers that guide you in a way of learning that gives you a little lead and compels you to learn more resourcefully. really awesome. and Peter Quint on vimeo has like 90 billion tutorials for h12.

I also recommand Peter Quint for the beginning, its nice to follow his Tutorials and he knows what he is talking about. SideEffects are also good. If you want to go deeper into the Software you need to find independent Houdini Blogs. There are not many of them... and these guys very often have a coder nature or just fun to play with nodes. I am a biginner aswell, I work with Houdini since 4 months and its the software I have been waiting for all the years vasting my time with Maya, Softimage or 3DSmax. So what I think is very helpfull, download some hipfiles (Houdini Scene Files) here or at Side Effects Forum and try to understand the setups of networks in the file and without any tutorial you see logical connections and functions and you see how Houdini works.