FLIP collision problem

Muhammad Junaid Baig

Hi,

I have been trying everything I know to get this working. I'm new to Houdini and specially to FLIP fluids. It is very very simple yet I can't figure it out. I'm trying to drop a simple FLIP liquid in a glass, but FLIP liquid doesn't seem to be colliding with the glass geo. I have tried to model geo in houdini from scratch but no luck. I have tried reversing the normals using reverse SOP, yet no luck. I'd appreciate any help.

Thanks,

The problem right now is that your collision geometry in your RBD object is not solid. If you check the box 'Show Collision Guide Geometry', you will see what I am talking about. Go to the collisions tab - RBD solver - volume to find that. Mess with the uniform divisions and the offset surface parameter to get a solid collision geo out of your glass.

I would personally create an SDF out of the glass and use that as a collision. I modified your file and attached to show you that method.

RBGlass_01.hip

Edited by rbowden

Thanks Ryan, that worked like a charm. And I also looked in your file and perhaps that is a better way of doing the collisions with FLIP. However, there is one more problem I can see now since my particles are actually colliding with my geo, they do not last and preserve their volume till the end and they all start dying. What I'm saying is that I'm left with 10 particles at frame 240 while I start with 30,338 particles at frame 1. Is this something to do with collision? Or is it something else where I should look at?

Thanks for the help.